Austrian Corps-Level Order-of-Battle


Taken from Militär-Schematismus des Österreichischen Kaiserthums, Vienna. (1854, 1855, and 1856 editions). Note that this annual army list does not entirely reflect the large-scale troop movements eastwards in response to the Crimean War. For instance, the commander of the troops occupying the Danubian Principalities was Graf Coronini, but this is not mentioned in the Schematismi, where he remains in his peacetime position of governor of the Banat and Vojvodina. The Schematismi do not reveal the assignments of regiments, brigades, or divisions. - Mark Conrad, 2000.


1854 organization:


I. Armee-Commando. Headquarters in Vienna. Commanded by Eugen Graf Wratislaw-Nettolitsky von Mittrowitz (1855 Franz Graf Wimpffen). Encompassed Bohemia, Moravia, Silesia, Lower and Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria [Steiermark], Tirol, and Vorarlberg. Headquarters in Vienna.

                1. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Prague.

Eduard Graf Clam-Gallas (1856 Eduard Fürst Lichtenstein).

                2. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Brünn.

                                Franz Graf Schlik zu Bassano und Weiskirchen.

                3. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Gratz.

                                Anton Freiherr Csorich von Monte-Carlo.

                9. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Semlin.

                                Franz Graf Schaaffgotsche.


II. Armee-Commando. Headquarters in Verona. Commanded by Joseph Graf Radetsky de Radetz. Encompassed the Kingdom of Lombardy-Venice, Carinthia [Kärnten], Carniola [Krain], and the Coastal Lands.

                5. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Milan.

                                Franz Graf Gyular von Máros-Németh und Nadaska.

                6. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Treviso.

                                Friedrich Fürst Liechtenstein.

                7. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Verona.

                                Carl Graf Wallmoden-Gimborn.

                8. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Bologna.

                                August Graf Degenfeld-Schonburg.


III. Armee-Commando. Headquarters in Ofen. Commanded by His Royal and Imperial Highness Archduke Albrecht. Encompassed Hungary and Transylvania [Siebenbergen].

                10. Armee-Corps.                                Headquarters Pesht [Budapest].

                                His Royal and Imperial Highness Archduke Carl Ferdinand.

                11. Armee-Corps.                                Headquarters Pesht [Budapest].

                                Eduard Graf Wengersky von Ungerschütz.

                12. Armee-Corps.                                Headquarters Hermannstadt [Sibiu].

                                Carl Fürst zu Schwarzenburg.

                1. Cavalerie-Armee-Corps.                               Headquarters Pesht. [Budapest].

                                Franz Fürst Liechtenstein.


IV. Armee-Commando. Headquarters in Lemberg [Lvov, Lviv]. Commanded by Edmund Fürst zu Schwarzenburg. Encompassed Galicia and Bukovina.

                4. Armee-Corps.                  Headquarters Lemberg [Lvov, Lviv].

                                Edmund Fürst zu Schwarzenburg.


Militär-und-Civil Gouvernnement für das Banat und die serbische Woivodschaft.

                (Military and Civil Government of the Banat and Serbian Vojvodina)

                Headquarters in Temesvar. Commanded by Johann Graf Coronini-Cronberg.


Militär-und-Civil Gouvernnement für Croatien, Slavonien und Dalmatien.

                (Military and Civil Government of Croatia, Slavonia, and Dalmatia.)

                Headquarters in Agram. Commanded by Joseph Graf Jellacic de Buzim.



Changes from the above as listed in the 1855 Schematismus:


2. Armee-Corps is listed as Reserve-Truppen-Commando des 2. Armee-Corps. Headquarters Brünn. Commanded by Ferdinand Freiherr von Simbschen.


III and IV Armeen acquired an overall command organization:

Armee Ober-Commando der III. und IV. Armee.  Heinrich Freiherr von Hess.

                III. Armee-Commando.       Friedrich Rudolph.

                                Armee-General-Commando der III. Armee.

                                                Joseph Freiherr Schwäger von Hohenbruck.

                                Reserve-Truppen-Commando der III. Armee.                Ofen.

Christian Graf Erlaucht Leiningen-Westerberg..

                                IV. Armee-Commando.      

Franz Graf Schlik zu Bassano und Weiskirchen

                                                Armee-General-Commando der IV. Armee.

                                                                Friedrich Teuchert.

                                                Reserve-Truppen-Commando der IV. Armee.                Lemberg.

                                Ludwig von Pfanzelter.


The 12. Armee-Corps acquired a reserve command at its peacetime garrison:

                Reserve-Truppen-Commando der 12. Armee-Corps.

                                Headquarters Hermannstadt.             Johann Bordolo Ritter von Boreo